Default auto-excluded items in a Windows file backup

SUMMARY

Auto-excluded items in a Windows file backup

ISSUE

Purpose

Describe files automatically excluded when performing a file backup of a Windows system.
 

Description

/RECYCLER

/$Recycle.Bin

%TMP%

%TEMP%

*.tmp

*.temp


%AllUsersProfile%\Microsoft\Network\Downloader\Cache

directory specified by : HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Windows Search\DataDirectory

directory specified by : HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Windows Search\DefaultDataDirectory

 

In the profile directories specfied by the registry key:

“HKLM\Software\Microsofit\Windows NT\CurrentVersion\ProfileList\*\ProfileImagePath\”     (example: c:\users\ksmith)


The exclude the following directories:

\AppData\Local\Temp

\Local Settings\Temp

\Local Settings\Temporary Internet Files

 

%WINDIR%\System32\Config

%WINDIR%\System32\Catroot2


Files in Exchange database/log directories

Files in SQL database/log directories

** SQL system databases are still included in a file-level backup to facilitate Windows Instant Recovery


%WINDIR%\win386.swp

?:\System Volume Information

 

Files specified by the subkeys in : HKLM\System\CurrentControlSet\Control\BackupRestore\FilesNotToBackup

RESOLUTION

If common *.tmp and *.temp files or temp folders must be included in a backup (rare, files needed for protection should not be in tmp folders as they are subject to automatic windows deletion) the following tag can be manually added to the file C:/PCBP/MASTER.INI
 

[BProfessional]
ExclTempFiles=NO  ;Default YES,True 



This setting overrides the backup client default behavior and will then NOT exclude the following objects:
\RECYCLER\
*:\{*}\RECYCLER\*
$RECYCLE.BIN\
\$Recycle.Bin\
*:
\\{*}\\$Recycle.Bin\\*
\temp\
*:
\\{*}\\temp\\*
*.tmp
*.temp
pagefile.sys



This setting will NOT include files that are part of windows registry exclusions noted above, it may be necessary to also edit the windows registry. 

It will be necessary to manually exclude some data that would otherwise have been auto excluded after using this setting.  This setting may be removed by future agent updates and shoudl be re-validated after upgrading the agent. 

Was this article helpful?
0 out of 0 found this helpful
Have more questions? Contact us