How to wipe a backup system

SUMMARY

How to wipe a backup system

ISSUE

https://unitrends-support.zendesk.com/hc/en-us/articles/360013198897
Provides instruction for wiping a system before re-purposing or return.

 

RESOLUTION

If a system needs to have all backup and site specific data deleted before returning it to Unitrends then the standard procedure is to re-image the system.  The imaging process will create new file systems thus removing all proprietary data. 
 
For sites with data sanitation regulations or organizational requirements, Unitrends recommends the use of a third party application which satisfies the prescribed security specification.

Click on the Links below to Re-image the system:

FTP link for appropriate ISO for Physical Appliance:  ftp://ftp.unitrends.com/support/isos/FactoryImages/

KB for re-image process:  Appliance Re-image Process

 

CAUSE

This process may be used when a system is re-purposed for a new task, for example if a local backup source system is re-purposed as a offsite backup target.

This process may also be used prior to the return of a system being traded in for a new generation system or an evaluation system being returned.

Was this article helpful?
0 out of 0 found this helpful
Have more questions? Contact us