Will the original VMware VM be overwritten during a restore?

SUMMARY

This article explains the expected behavior when restoring a VMware virtual machine.

ISSUE

When you restore a VM from a VMware backup, a new VM is created.  If you are restoring to the original ESX host and the original VM still resides on this host, it is not overwritten during the restore. For instructions on restoring a VMware virtual machine, see Restoring the entire virtual machine in the Recovery-Series and UEB Administrator's Guide.

Was this article helpful?
0 out of 0 found this helpful
Have more questions? Contact us