Configuring NDMP NetApp clusters for backup 

SUMMARY

This article explains that Unitrends supports NDMP backups of NetApp clusters using the node-scope mode.

ISSUE

Purpose

This article explains that Unitrends supports NDMP backups of NetApp clusters using the node-scope mode.

Description

Unitrends supports NDMP backups of NetApp clusters if Data Ontap version 8.2 or higher is available and the “node” scope is used. In versions 8.2 and higher, Data Ontap has two modes—node-scope and Vserver-scope—available to choose from, but Unitrends currently only supports NDMP backups using the node-scope, which operates at the node level and is configured as it was in NDMP Ontap version 7. Cluster-aware backup extension (CAB) in the Vserver-scope is not supported.

 

RESOLUTION

We recommend using the following procedures to disable clear text, enable NDMP, and enable the node-scope on your NetApp device.

I. Disable clear text on your NetApp device.

  1. Login to your NetApp device.

  2. Use the following command to ensure that clear text is disabled: 

    system services ndmp modify cluster1-01 -enable true -clear-text false -user-id

     

  3. Enter the password associated with the username. The username and password entered here are used as the credentials on the Add Client screen in your Unitrends appliance.

II. Enable NDMP on your NetApp device.

 

On your NetApp device, run the following command to view the NDMP settings for each node of the cluster you with to protect with Unitrends backups: 

cluster1::system services ndmp> system services ndmp show
 

This returns the following information:
If 'False' appears for any of the nodes in the cluster under the Enabled column, then do the step above under II to ensure that clear text is false.

NodeEnabledClear TextUser ID
Cluster1-01TrueFalseroot
Cluster1-02TrueFalseroot
   


III.  Enable the node-scope on your NetApp device.

 

From your NetApp device, run the following command to check the NDMP mode:

 

cluster1::> system services ndmp node-scope-mode status
 

If you see  NDMP node-scope-mode is disabled, run the following command:

 

cluster1::> system service ndmp node-scope-mode on

You then see NDMP node-scope-mode is enabled.

IV.  Use the LIF type recommended by the ONTAP documentation.
The LIF types available and procedures for configuring them vary. Use the following NetApp Ontap documentation:

 

We recommend using the Node Mgmt LIF, which provides a dedicated IP address for managing specific nodes or the cluster-mgmt roled LIFs.

 

If these types of LIF do not exist, you must create one. Continue to the next steps to create an LIF. The IP associated with this LIF should be used to do backup and restore.

 

Use the following command to view the network interfaces for the nodes of your cluster:

 

cluster1::system services ndmp> net int show -fields lif,address,home-node,home-port,is-home,role

This returns the following information:
vserver lif               role    home-node   home-port is-home address        
------- ----------------- ------- ----------- --------- ------- ------------
Cluster cluster1-01_clus1 cluster cluster1-01 e0a       true    169.254.172.166
Cluster cluster1-01_clus2 cluster cluster1-01 e0b       true    169.254.94.14  
Cluster cluster1-02_clus1 cluster cluster1-02 e0a       true    169.254.245.82 
Cluster cluster1-02_clus2 cluster cluster1-02 e0b       true    169.254.224.83 
cluster1
        cluster1-01_mgmt1 node-mgmt
                                  cluster1-01 e0c       true    192.168.251.30 
cluster1
        cluster1-02_mgmt1 node-mgmt
                                  cluster1-02 e0c       true    192.168.251.35 
cluster1
        cluster_mgmt      cluster-mgmt
                                  cluster1-01 e0d       true    192.168.251.31 

Additionally, even though we do not currently support the Vserver CAB extenstion, you can still backup your cluster if you have node-scope turned off and NDMP enabled on a Vserver-scope. Backups will fail if, for some reason, the volume migrates from one node to another. In such cases, that volume will have to be migrated back to the original node and then the backup will have to be manually run again.
Note: The failover of one volume to a new node may cause other unwanted side effects. If you have “Auto include new volumes” turned on in your schedule, a new full will be run for the new node to which the volume was migrated.

Was this article helpful?
0 out of 0 found this helpful
Have more questions? Contact us