Create Backup Job dialog (8.0)

SUMMARY

Create Backup Job dialog (8.0)

ISSUE

The Backup Job dialog is used to create backup jobs to protect your virtual machines. This dialog can be launched from either the Protect page or from the Jobs page.

Figure - Create Job menu on the Jobs page

User-added image

 After launching the dialog, the Select VMs step is displayed first.

Figure - Create Backup Job dialog - Select VMs

User-added image

 

Select VMs

The Select VMs step lets you pick the VMs or containers to back up as well as define settings for each VM.

From the Inventory tree you can select the environment, host, and virtual machines to backup. The tree breaks down into environments and from there into hosts, machines, and finally disks.

Figure - Inventory Tree

User-added image

When an item in the tree is selected (checked), it is added to the inventory table. A darkened check box User-added image indicates a parent node of that item is selected. It is also possible to exclude VMs and disks when running a job. To do this, click again inside the check box. A red line will appear drawn through the VM or disk name and a red x will appear in the check box as follows: User-added image.

To easily locate an item, you can use the Search feature located at the bottom of the tree. When you enter the name of the item, it will appear highlighted in the tree:

User-added image

 

Views

Changing the view settings can be done by clicking the views User-added image icon located on the left side of the inventory banner. A drop down will appear:

User-added image

Selecting VMs will only display the machines under the environment without hosts. Selecting Hosts will display all current VMs underneath their assigned hosts.

Note: If you change views, you will lose all your selections in the inventory tree.

You can open and close the tree by clicking on the expand all User-added image or collapse all User-added image buttons located on the right side of the inventory banner.

 

Job Inventory Settings

Figure - Job Inventory Settings

User-added image

When an item is selected from the Inventory tree, it will be appear in the Job Inventory Settings table. The table displays the name of each item along with four other columns:

Verify - This option lets you select the type of verification to use during the backup. You can verify each block of data every backup (Full), only data that has changed since last backup (Quick), or no verification (None). Full/Incremental backups will always use Quick regardless of verification type selected.

CBT - (Changed Block Tracking) Used to compare only disk sectors that have changed between backups. CBT is not currently supported on Citrix XenServer VMs. For additional information on what is supported for CBT, refer to the Known Issues for UVB 8.0.

Quiesce - Quiesce Windows applications with Microsoft VSS using Hypervisor tools installed on the VM.

Truncate Logs - Perform transaction log truncation on VMs running Microsoft Exchange. Supported on VMware and Hyper-V VMs, only.

Run Post Backup Scripts - Run scripts on the client VM when the backup is completed, including log truncation and other custom scripts. Requires scripts installed on the guest VM and admin credentials configured for the VM. Supported on VMware and Hyper-V VMs, only.

  

Editing the Table

In order to change the settings for the entire table inventory, click the edit icon User-added image located on the left side of the table headings. This will open the Edit settings for all Inventory dialog window.

Figure - Edit settings for all Inventory window

User-added image

Here you will be able to to change the Verify Type. You also have options to use CBT (Change Block Tracking), set the Quiesce settings, when to Truncate Logs, and when to Run Post Backup Scripts .

 

Editing Table Items

Clicking on the edit icon pencil_icon.png opens the dialog window which will allow you to change the settings of a specific item in the table.

Figure - Edit settings window

User-added image

 

As with the Edit settings all inventory window, you have the ability to change the Verify type, use CBT, set the Quiesce settings, when to Truncate Logs, and when to Run Post Backup Scripts.

 

When finished selecting your items, click Next to define the job settings.

 

Defining Job Settings

Figure - Define Job Settings

User-added image

Here you will enter the information needed for running your backup. Below we defined the different options available. When you are finished entering all the information click Submit to proceed with the job.

 

Backup Mode

Here you will choose the type of backup to create.

Figure - Backup Mode

User-added image

A Virtual Full backup is for fast backups and recovery. This type is ideal for backing up to attached disk storage.

A Full/Incremental backup produces small, incremental backups with periodic fulls. This type is recommended for backing up to network storage, target-side dedupe devices, tape, and other offsite storage. It is also possible to use the Force full backup mode when running Full/Incremental jobs . This allows you to force a full backup for any job ran immediately or just one time. It is currently unavailable for jobs scheduled or done on demand.

 

Backup Settings

Figure - Backup Settings

User-added image

Here you have the ability to Pin backups to prevent them from being deleted. If you do not wish to retain a backup, leave the check box unchecked.

 

Reporting

Figure - Reporting section

User-added image

To receive reports on the status of your backup, enter your Email Address and choose your reporting options. To add other recipients click the User-added image icon. You can remove addresses by clicking the User-added image icon.

Note: In addition to the Global Email settings, this new feature allows you to receive a report for one specific job as opposed to a more universal report.

 

Backup Job Type

Here you can select when to run the backup. Below are the different schedule types:

Now

User-added image

Choose this option when you want to run the backup job immediately. Once you click Submit, the job will automatically appear in the table on the Active Jobs tab.

Note: You can select the Force full backup mode for this type when running Full/Incremental backups.

Scheduled

User-added image

When you schedule a backup, you have a number of options from which to choose. Once you select a Start Date, you can choose which Days to run the backups, the time they start, and the recurrence rate. For Full/Incremental backups, a Full Schedule Details section will appear and allow you to choose the days and Start Time specifically for Full backups.

Note: One Full backup runs before the Incremental backups begin. Setting the Start Time to 12:00 a.m. and Until time to 11:59 p.m. will create a 24 hour backup.

Run Once

User-added image

The Run Once option will allow you to set a time and date for a backup to run only one time.

Note: You can select the Force full backup mode for this type when running Full/Incremental backups.

Note: Run Once jobs remain on the Job Manager tab after their scheduled time.

On Demand

User-added image

The On Demand option sets up a job to run when you want it without creating a schedule. When you select On Demand and click Submit the job will appear in the table on the Job Manager tab. Its status will remain idle until you decide to run the job. See the Job Manager section in Jobs - Job Manager tab (8.0) for more details.

Was this article helpful?
0 out of 0 found this helpful
Have more questions? Contact us