How does the overwrite option work when archiving backups?

SUMMARY

This article explains how the overwrite option, when used in conjunction with retention, removes all archives on the selected media.

ISSUE

If your archive sets are not protected with current retention, running an archive with the Overwrite option checked removes all existing archives from the media before creating the new archive set. If any set on your archive media is still protected by retention, and the overwrite option is selected, the archive job fails. For details, see Overwrite in the Recovery-Series and UEB Administrator's Guide.

Was this article helpful?
0 out of 0 found this helpful
Have more questions? Contact us