Edit VM Settings dialog (8.0)

SUMMARY

Edit VM Settings dialog (8.0)

ISSUE

The View/Edit VM Settings dialog allows you to edit the Backup StorageBackup Compression, Backup Block Size, VM Priority, and Retention policy settings. You can also enter your Application Aware Credentials. Below is the dialog as it appears when viewing or editing a single VM. Each section with the exception of the Application Aware Credentials is unlocked User-added image and is open to changes.

Figure - View/Edit VM Settings dialog (Single VM)

User-added image

When viewing or editing multiple VMs, the sections in the dialog will be unchecked checkbox_unchecked.png by default as seen below.  This allows you the option to change settings one section at a time while maintaining the original settings for the remaining sections. To unlock a section, simply check the box checkbox_with_check.png. The fields will open and you will be able to proceed with changing the setting.

Figure - View/Edit VM Settings dialog (Multiple VMs)

User-added image

Backup Storage

The backup data store each virtual machine is backed up to can be assigned per-VM. The next time a backup job runs the VM's backup will be stored on the assigned backup data store. If for some reason the backup data store is unavailable, the VM backup will report an error. If a Backup Data Store is not assigned to a VM, one will be selected when the first backup of the VM runs. The Backup Data Store can still be assigned in the Settings tab after a backup has been run. All new backups will be stored on the selected data store.

Retention

The default Retention Policy for each VM is Typical. When creating Virtual Full backups, this ensures that the last 5 most recent backups for each VM are retained and in addition, the most recent backup from each of the last 7 days, 4 weeks, 12 months, and 5 years is also retained. The Typical setting will result in 21 unique Virtual Full backups for each virtual machine after one year.

When creating Full/Incremental backups, Typical will keep the last 3 backup chains (a backup chain consists of the initial Full backup and all subsequent Incremental backups until the next Full). Therefore, if your Full/Incremental backup job creates one full per week, the Typical Retention policy will keep 3 weeks of backups for each VM.

It is also possible to open the Manage Retentions Policies dialog from this section by clicking User-added image located to the right of the Retention Policy dropdown. This dialog will allow you to create and customize retention policies. For more information on this topic see Manage Retention Policies dialog (8.0).

When finished making your changes click Save. If you click Reset, the storage and retention policy will revert back to the original settings. Removing the check from the check box and clicking Save will result in no changes being made to the settings.

Note: No backups will be deleted by Keep All retention.

Backup Compression & Block Size

Here you can adjust the backup compression and block size settings at the VM level.

Backup Compression options include the following:

  • Use BDS Setting - The default setting, this option will use the compression setting applied to the backup data store. The default setting at the backup data store is GZIP.
  • Uncompressed - No compression is applied to the backup data. This can be useful (or required) when using storage devices that perform additional compression.
  • GZIP - This compression method performs the highest compression level resulting in reduced amount of storage space used. The additional compression used by GZIP will impact performance - backup speed and overall backup time.
  • LZOP - This method results in less compression than GZIP but in most cases will impact performance much less, resulting in compressed backups faster than the GZIP alternative.

Backup Block Size options include:

  • Use BDS Setting - The default setting, this option will use the block size setting applied to the backup data store. The default setting at the backup data store is 1 MB.
  • 512 KB, 1 MB, 2 MB, 4 MB - The size of the backup block used to store backup data should not be adjusted in most situations unless instructed to by support. Adjusting the block size can impact backup and restore performance.

To adjust these settings at the storage level see Configure - Environments - Storage tab, Create/Edit Storage dialogs (8.0).

Priority

The current priority settings for the VM. Priority defines when a VM will be backed up relative to other VMs in the same job. Those of most importance should always be set to High.

Application Aware Credentials

Here you can enter the user name and password to use to process the application aware functionality. This section is locked by default. To enter your credentials, simply check the box User-added image to open the fields.

Was this article helpful?
0 out of 0 found this helpful
Have more questions? Contact us