The Rollback Recovery option lets you restore a virtual machine to a previous point in time by recovering only the changes from the selected backup over the top of the existing VM. Since only the changes from the backup are being recovered, Rollback Recovery results in very fast restore times. With Rollback Recovery, you do not need to specify the location or network information during the recovery wizard, since all data is restored over an existing virtual machine. Because the existing virtual machine is being overwritten, changes made since the time of the backup will be lost.
Note: Any data that changed between the time of the selected backup and the present will be lost during a Rollback Recovery.
To safeguard against issues that could be caused due to a failed or interrupted recovery process, you have the option to take a snapshot of the existing VM prior to the recovery process. This is highly recommended.
Rollback Recovery Notes
- Rollback Recovery can be performed for a single virtual machine at a time.
- Virtual Machines must be powered off to perform Rollback Recovery.
- Taking a snapshot before performing a Rollback Recovery is highly recommended (this is the default behavior). If a Rollback Recovery is interrupted or stopped, you may experience issues with the existing VM. In this case, the VM will be reverted to the snapshot taken before the recovery began.
- Rollback Recovery will not recreate disks that were deleted or missing from the existing VM. If you need to restore missing or deleted disks, you will need to run a standard recovery.