Create Replication Job dialog (8.0)

SUMMARY

The Replication Job dialog is used to create and edit Replication jobs which will replicate your virtual machines based on an existing backup or archive job's schedule.

ISSUE

The Replication Job dialog is used to create and edit Replication jobs which will replicate your virtual machines based on an existing backup or archive job's schedule.

This dialog can be accessed through the Protect page's Inventory and Replicas tabs as well as any of the jobs tabs on the Jobs page. To launch the dialog click replicate_icon.png from the Protect page's Inventory or Replicas tabs or use the create_job_icon.png dropdown located on the tabs of the Jobs page.

 

Selecting a Job

The first step in replication is to select a backup or archive job from the jobs table. The job's environment and schedule are both displayed in the table. Each time this backup or archive job runs, the replication job will start and replicate virtual machine data based on the backups created.

After selecting the job, the VMs within that job are also displayed.

Note: Only one job can be selected at a time.

 

Figure - Create Replication Job dialog - Select Job

User-added image

 

Tip: The Replica Job name can be changed at any point in the wizard using the Job Name option at the top of the window.

 

Defining Job Settings

Here you will enter the information needed for creating your replica VMs.

Figure - Create Replication Job dialog - Define Job Settings

User-added image

Replication Destination

Here you will choose the Target Environment where you will create the replicas and the Target Destination.

Figure - Replication Destination

User-added image

 

Clicking select_target_dest_icon.png opens the Select Target Destination mini-wizard. This is where you will set the target location for the replica VMs.

 

Select Target Destination wizard

You must set the following parameters:

  1. Location - Name of the Datacenter or Folder in which you will create the replicas.

    User-added image
     
  2. Host - Name of the Host in which you will create the replicas.

    User-added image

    Note: When selecting a host, you must select the Host to proceed to the next step.
     
  3. Resource - Name of the Resource or Folder in which you will create the replica.

    User-added image

Click Save when finished. To go back and change your selections click Prev. Your selections will appear in the Replication Destination section once saved.

Note: When replicating Hyper-V backups, two other options will be available VM Path and Disk Path. The VM Path is the path where the created replica VM will be stored. The Disk Path is the path where the created replica VM disks will be stored.

Once returned to the Replication Destination section, select the Target Storage (the storage on which to create replicas) and Target Network (the network to use for the replica VMs). The options available are determined by what you selected in the Select Target Destination wizard.

 

Replica Hardware Defaults

By default, MAC addresses are generated automatically for all replica VMs. If you choose to enter a new address manually, deselect this option by clicking the check box.

Next, select the new hardware to be included in the replica. You have the options to replicate Disks (default setting), VM Settings, All (both disks and VM Settings), or none. These settings allow you to automatically carry over to the replica any changes made to either the disks or VM Settings.

 

Figure - Replica Hardware Defaults

User-added image

 

Replication Options

Set the replication job to verify each block of data written (Full), only data that has changed since the last replica (Quick), or not to verify at all (None).

Next, select the number of restore points to keep for each replica. Restore points define the number of snapshots to leave on each replica VM. Snapshots are taken each time the replica runs. The replica will only contain the most recent snapshots.

Note: Restore Points are not supported for Hyper-V virtual machine replicas.

 

Figure - Replication Options

User-added image

 

Reporting

To receive reports on the status of your replica, enter your Email Address and choose your reporting options. To add other recipients click the add_email_icon.png icon. You can remove addresses by clicking the remove_email_icon.png icon.

Note: In addition to the Global Email settings, this new feature allows you to receive a report for one specific job as opposed to a more universal report.

 

Figure - Reporting Section

User-added image

 

When finished defining the job settings click Next to proceed to the View/Edit Summary step.

 

View/Edit Summary

At the View/Edit Summary step you can review your VMs to be replicated and change individual VM settings. 

Figure - Create Replication Job dialog - View/Edit Summary

User-added image

 

To change a VMs settings, click icon_edit_restored_vm.png before the VM name. The Edit Settings dialog opens.

Figure - Edit Settings dialog for Individual VM

User-added image

 

Location Selected:

With Location selected, you can edit the replica name, target destination, storage options, and network details for a single VM. You can use the Select Target Destination wizard to change the location.

Note: If you choose not to automatically generate a MAC address for the VM, you can click edit_mac_addy_icon.png to enter one in manually. To reset the address to the original from the backup, simply click the refresh button refresh_address_icon.png.

 

Existing VM Selected:

With Existing VM selected, you can select/edit the target inventory, storage options, and network details. Use the Select Target Inventory wizard to choose the target VM where you would like to put the replicate.

 User-added image

When finished editing, click Save to return to the View/Edit Summary table.

To change the name of multiple VMs at once, for example to add the suffix _replica to all replicated VMs, you can Append a suffix by clicking Edit Suffixes in the Name column header in the table. Alternatively, you could also use this option to remove a suffix, for example _replica2, from all restored VMs using the Remove option. Finish by clicking Apply.

When you've reviewed your summary information and are ready to submit the job, click Submit.

The newly created job is displayed in the Jobs page.

 

 

Note: If you choose to edit a replication job after it has run, the edit dialog for the individual VM will automatically be set to Existing VM. Leave this selection unchanged if you want to continue replicating to that same VM.

Note: UVB will not replicate to a VM that is powered on. Subsequent jobs will fail with the message Cannot replicate to a VM that is running.

 

Running a Replication Job

To run a replication job immediately, you can run the backup or archive job used as its source (displayed in the replication job's schedule column in the Job Manager tab).

 

Was this article helpful?
0 out of 0 found this helpful
Have more questions? Contact us