How can I manage my snapshot retention policy?

SUMMARY

How can I manage my snapshot retention policy?

ISSUE

By default, Boomerang does not delete your old backups.  However, you can set a Backup Retention Period (in days) in Boomerang.  Protection group snapshots older than the specified retention period will be automatically removed from the S3 storage of the nominated AWS account. The last snapshot that you have will never be automatically deleted by retention.

TASKS

If you want to clear your protection group completely, you will need to delete it.

To establish a retention period, follow these steps:
1. Go to the ‘Protection Group Dashboard’ by clicking ‘Protection Groups’ at the top of the page
2. Click on the name of the protection group you want to edit.
User-added image
3. Click ‘Change Protection Group settings’.
User-added image
4. On the pop-up screen, select ‘Delete backups after x days’ and specify the retention period in days.
User-added image 
5. Finally, click ‘Update Protection Group Settings’ to save your settings.

Was this article helpful?
0 out of 0 found this helpful
Have more questions? Contact us