NAS clients still show in the navigation pane when removed from storage

SUMMARY

How to delete a NAS client that shows in the navigation pane but not in the storage menu

ISSUE

This issue occurs when you remove the storage connection for a NAS from the legacy interface while it still has enabled schedules on it. This can also cause the NAS to show in Satori even after being removed. In order to properly remove the NAS, we will need to create a "fake" storage item to remove. 

RESOLUTION

First, prepare the Client for deletion by following these steps. From the Legacy UI...

  • Select the top most entry for the Unitrends Server on the left (has a blue disk image).
  • Click on Backups which generates the six options below the main menu bar.
  • Select the far right button named Schedules and sort by Client by clicking on the Client column.
  • Locate the Client name and delete any schedules for it.
  • If you are Archiving, click on the Archive button form the main menu, then click on Schedule Archive and click on View/Modify. Uncheck the Client from the Clients to Archive list. Click Save.

We will now be re-adding the Protect a NAS entry for the Client, though instead of pointing to the NAS that existed, we are directing it to use the Unitrends device. This corrects the connection and links so we can perform the proper removal process later on. From the Legacy UI...

Go to Settings -> Storage and Retention -> Storage and click "Protect a NAS" (bottom right).
Storage Name: Only use characters that appear before "-NAS-RRC"

E.G:  Archive-NAS-RRC, then Storage Name = Archive

Hostname = localhost
Protocol = cifs
Share Name = samba

All other fields should be left with their default values or blank. 
KB4013

Click on the Storage item you have just created, then click the Delete button. This action removes the NAS entry from the Storage page, the Navigation Pane, and from the Clients page. 

CAUSE

If the process is not deleted properly, the workflow needed to complete the process becomes broken. This can also happen if a NAS box dies and needs to be restored. The only way to fix it is to re-create the broken links, by adding the NAS back to the DPU, using the same Storage Name, but pointing it to a NAS that is operational.

Was this article helpful?
0 out of 0 found this helpful
Have more questions? Contact us